Executive Director Harlon Hutcheson

Harlon began his fire service career as a firefighter with the Russellville Fire Dept. in 1973. He was promoted in 1975 to Lieutenant, then in 1977 he became chief of the department. Harlon served various positions within the AAFC, including a term as president in 1999. After retirement from Russellville Fire Dept. in 2002, Harlon became the second Executive Director of the AAFC. 

  Harlon Hutcheson
  Executive Director
  P.O. Box 567
  Phil Campbell, Al. 35581
 [email protected]
  205-993-4290 (Office) 256-627-6382 (Cell)

Executive Board


Chief Jeff Waldrep Fire & Rescue
Anniston Fire & Rescue.
Anniston, Al. 36602
[email protected]

256-231-7644 Office
256-689-0347 Cell


Chief Shane Boyd
Opelika Fire & Rescue
604 Avenue B
Opelika, Al. 36801
[email protected]

334-705-5300 ( Office)

2nd Vice-President

Chief Tracy Thornton
Decatur Fire Dept.
4119 Old Highway 31 S.
Decatur, Al. 35603

256-341-4858 (Office) 
256-443-6934 (Cell)


Chief Jon Lord
Rocky Ridge Fire Dept.
2911 Metropolitan Way
Birmingham, Al. 35243
[email protected]

205-966-8791 Cell
(205) 822-0532 Office

Southeastern Association of Fire Chiefs
Alabama Director

Fire Chief Joey Darby
Foley  Fire/Rescue
120 W Verbena St.
Foley, Al. 36535
[email protected]

 251-943-1266 Work
251-424-0176 Cell

CAFCA Representative

Chief Justin R. McKenzie
Fultondale,  Fire & Rescue

[email protected]
Cell 205-415-1777


NAFCA Representative

Deputy Chief Brandy Williams
Madison Fire Dept.
101 Mill Rd.
Madison, Al. 
[email protected]


SEAAFC Representative

Chief Cory Spurlin
 Opp Fire & Rescue

200  North Main St.
Opp, Al. 36467
[email protected]

 (Office)(334) 493-7015 


SWAAFC Representative

Chief Joey Darby
Foley  Fire Department
120 W Verbena St.
Foley,Al. 36535
[email protected]

251-943-1266 Work
251-424-0176 Cell



Chief Michael Stephens
Troy  Fire & Rescue
P.O. Box 549
Troy, Al. 36081
[email protected]

334-566-5943 Office
334-672-0080 Cell